Friday, August 18, 2017

Brazil's FIFA World Cup Domination

Skilled in metal fabrication and design, Chad Faglier is a project manager for a North Carolina-based home builder company. Beyond his professional responsibilities, Chad Faglier's interests include Fédération Internationale de Football Association (FIFA) World Cup soccer. 

Since 1930, the best soccer nations have converged on a host site every four years (except for 1942 and 1946 due to World War II) to determine the world's premier team. Eight countries have combined to win 20 FIFA World Cup tournaments, although no nation has acquired more titles than Brazil, which has won five times and appeared in seven World Cup finals. Germany and Italy are tied for the second-most victories with four each. 

Brazil won its first World Cup in 1958 by defeating Sweden 5-2 in the final. It outscored its opposition 16-4 and won five of its six games, with its only blemish standing as a scoreless draw against England. Brazil defended its championship in 1962 with a 3-1 win over Czechoslovakia in the final. The South American country won again in 1970, 1994, and 2002. It hosted the 2014 World Cup, which was won by Germany.